Annual General Meeting and Spilt Ink Winners

A warm and friendly gathering of members attended OOTA’s Annual General meeting on Saturday, 27 October, 2018 at the Fremantle Arts Centre.

Members were pleased to adopt outgoing President Julie Watts report on another successful year supporting and encouraging members and WA writers in their various writing activities.

Treasurer Leanne Searle reported that the association was financially healthy largely due to an increase in membership and enhanced fundraising.

Membership Coordinator Richard Regan reported an increase in membership from 92 in 2017 to 107 as of the date of the AGM.

Secretary Rita Tognini reported that due to changes in the legislation governing clubs and associations, there was a need to update our constitution. A motion to replace the current constitution with the Model Rules recommended by the Department (DMI&S) was unanimously accepted and, after ratification by the Department, the new Rules will be posted on our website.

Rita also conducted the elections for the new committee and the following were elected unopposed

2018-19 Committee:

Veronica Lake: President

Julie Watts: Vice President

Rita Tognini: Secretary

Leanne Searle: Treasurer

Richard Regan: Membership

Marlish Glorie: Ordinary Member

Jan Napier: Ordinary Member

Jenny Jones: Ordinary Member

Peter Burges: Ordinary member

Rose Van Son: Ordinary Member

A vote of thanks to Julie for all her hard work over her years as President was unanimously approved. Thanks were also voted for outgoing committee members Maureen Gibbons and Rae Hillhorst.

The meeting also included the announcement of winners of OOTA’s biannual Spilt Ink Competition.

The Prose category was judged by Rosemary Stevens whose report may be viewed here. The winners were: 

First Prize - Josephine Clarke - Looking for the Grain

Second Prize – Tracey Feakes - His Dog

Third Prize – Tracey Feakes - Christmas Cheer

Highly Commended - Rod Mackay - Moscow Heat

Highly Commended - Eugenia Howell - The Promise 

The Poetry category was judged by Marcella Polain, whose report may be viewed here. The winners were: 

First Prize - Kevin Gillam - small religion

Second Prize - Kevin Gillam - Airfix hours

Third Prize - Jan Napier - The Bridge

Highly Commended-  Kay Cairns - Wacol Migrant Hostel

Highly Commended - Josephine Clarke - It is Enough

A vote of thanks was approved to both Rosemary and Marcella for their work judging the competition.

Following the awards incoming President Veronica Lake introduced the 2019 OOTA Anthology on Place.  

Theme: Place.


Poetry 50 line limit

Short Stories: 1,500 word limit

Flash Fiction: 500 word limit.

Previously published and unpublished work will be accepted

Closing date: possibly end of April, to be confirmed.  

The anthology will be launched in August and members further details will be published in Network Tuesday as details are firmed up. Entry in the anthology will be confined to OOTA members.